“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2010-06-03 - 10:50 p.m.

May 29th-My Journey to Elective Surgery�s 1st Show!

In between all the big events, my mom and I were super busy gathering materials to make my costumes and I was finding props wherever I could and making them if I couldn�t. MPsy and I had practice in San Diego that had grown to be so much fun! Our little cast was growing with new members and extras and so many things were getting fine-tuned and resolved, we could see the light at the end of the tunnel! In between our scenes most of us would talk and laugh and joke around, learning new things about one another and helping each other out with our dialogue, props, gags and costumes. Some of you may not know our first show was actually supposed to be in April but the Ken double booked us accidentally so our date was pushed back. We were bummed but in reality it was a blessing in disguise. It was time used VERY wisely!

I was really insistant on getting everything as screen accurate as possible. I had trouble getting the contact lenses for a good three weeks but when they came, I was SO happy!

Photobucket
I was freaking out my bro the day I first put these on! @_@

Photobucket
This is how I do my Blind Mag make-up! This was an hour before I went to the theatre :D

After waiting 6 months for the thigh high lust boots to come back in stock at Torrid, I snatched them up with thisiscyrene �s help! (They wouldn�t ship them to a PO Box so Cyrene let me use her addy! She got vegan cookies and many thanks in return! <3) I needed help on my Chromaggia dress. I had received the feathers for the dress the month prior but when I got it I realized I received the wrong order! Instead of a pound of all red dyed iridescent feathers I�d gotten a rainbow assortment! It took the company an ENTIRE MONTH to straighten everything out with the charged. When I got them I was sort of clueless as to how to construct the dress, but fortunate for me, and the rest of Elective Surgery, we had gals who have a knack for sewing and costuming! Kristina, who plays a Henchgirl in the production, and Cindy, director Amy�s mom, gave me some pointers and some ideas on how to make the feathers stay in place and it totally worked! ^.^

Photobucket

The best moments came when we had our in-theatre rehearsals, when a lot of my nerves were set aside because I was actually going through the motions of each scene and each costume change. I was getting sick a lot and was exhausted from driving two hours back and forth late at night for rehearsals and then having to go to work. I spent 8 hours in my car when I went to Beverly Hills to pick up and drop off Dash�s Repo Man coat and drop off the stuffed animals to Amy. That was such an adventure, Red Bull and 5 Hour Energy are my BEST FRIENDS! I was so happy to see the smiles of everyone�s face when I brought them their props AND cookies! In the end, it was all oh-so totally worth it to have such an awesome debut!

My dad and mom wanted to see my first show so we decided to sleep over night in San Diego, make a trip of it. This would have been fine except my dad was getting on my last nerve the entire time. All he wanted to do was watch TV, even though I told him I was on a tight schedule. He was like, whatever, we�ll get to it when I want to. ARGH!!! It was cos of him I ran late coming to the theatre and I *hate* being late with a fiery passion that burns from within. They wouldn�t let me into the theatre at first because I was dressed as Velma!

Photobucket
(it�s part of a gag we do)

When I did come in everyone was running around putting things in their place, putting their costumes to change into where they should be and fixing any loose ends that needed tightening. I was really excited, I could hardly believe that this was it!

A lot of people on our FaceBook invite page said they wouldn�t be coming because of the holiday and because there was a LARPing thing going on. So when the doors came open, we were shocked that so many people came pouring in! I was really happy! Some of the cast from ATTAK! came for support, and my parents were near the middle so they could see everything. Amy introduced herself and CJ, who was our special guest doing BandLeader! He usually plays the mustachio driver.

Photobucket
Here's Amy indroducing CJ, who's kind of a big deal :{D

Tara, who plays Blind Mag in the LA ATTAK! shadowcast (and has a powerful voice!) came up and sang the Blood Spackled Banner to welcome everyone to the Elective Surgery show! After that, the lights turned off, the spotlights turned on and the movie started playing!

Photobucket

X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*WARNING, HERE BE SPOILERS!!!! If you've never seen the movie I urge you to see it and come to the next show!!!*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*X*

I was enjoying seeing the parts the cast played that I hadn�t seen yet in theatre, until the Scooby Doo spoof came, then I was like, oh yeah, I�m in this scene! Everyone laughed when our Scooby (Emmi, who plays Amber 2!) snuck behind Nathan! (Dash, our very intimidating Repo! Man!) Poor Shilo�s wig kept getting all messed up until Maggie, the girl playing Shilo, just threw it off and did the whole scene without a wig and kept it off the rest of the night! Even though it wasn�t in the gags my parents thought it was funny! So did I, it worked out as an improve gag! Everyone did such an awesome job, even the stuff that wasn�t planned worked out great! I was really happy that we were all together that night and all our hard work showed through!

Here's a gritty rundown of the night in pics!:


Photobucket
GRAAAAAAVES!!!!

Photobucket
Marni waits nearby as Nathan tends to poor Shilo!

Photobucket
"Just until I fix your wig"

Photobucket
Our very sexy GENterns leading the crowd in Lungs and Livers!

Photobucket
HAHA, Oh, Michael! The fearless Capt. Wong Wei as the Mustachio Driver

Photobucket
Rotti knows pretty little girls like candy as one of the Henchgirls looks on as if this has happened a lot hehee!

Photobucket
Graverobber being lead away by Amber in Zydrate Anatomy

Photobucket
Mag's contract's got some mighty fine print...too bad you can't read it!

Photobucket
He remembers! Quit hassling the man!!!

Photobucket
I LOVE this picture so much! SEVENTEEN! Experiment with something living!

Photobucket
I LOVE this picture times two! Hey hey! Hey hey!

Photobucket
Daddy, are you ok? It's your daughter, Spooky Dan!

Photobucket
Shilo, take your medicine. *CHUG CHUG CHUG CHUG!*

Photobucket
The Largo men plan their evening At the Opera...Tonight!

Photobucket
"Pavi gets laid!"

Photobucket
Amber's Z-ed up and ready to go!

Photobucket
It's CJ guest starring as the Band Leader! Everybody, TESTIFY!

Photobucket
GENco's favorite-and only-daughter, Amber Sweet!

Photobucket
Oh nooooes!

Photobucket
Hey...there's a Marni on that table!

Photobucket
Pavi, Rotti and Shilo look on as Repo Man does things

Photobucket
Quit tasing me, bro!

Photobucket
The expression on her face is so intense, I love it!

Photobucket
Don't leave me, daddy!

Photobucket
Sexy Graverobber reminds us all when the next show is!

Photobucket
Take a bow!

Here�s a few of the photos I was in from Jerry�s photos:


Photobucket
Tao of Mag!

Photobucket
Shilo, what are you doing?!

Photobucket
The Largo children-worthy heirs?

Photobucket
Mag, there's someone I'd like you to meet...she looks like your old lover-er, I mean, best friend!

Photobucket
I must gooooo~ as Pavi looks at himself in the mirror! (Let's face it, he's prettier!)

Photobucket
Yes, that's Michael aka Capt. Wong Wei aka My Wife in a Marie Antoinette wig!

Photobucket
Chase the Morning mixed with The Shuffle and The Electric Slide!

Photobucket
"It's too late for me..."

Photobucket
"How'd you get in my house?"

Photobucket
I love this picture, I'm like "Unhand me, you fiend!"

Photobucket
Unmovable Mag!!!

Photobucket
Come back!!!

Photobucket
I've made my peace...I hold no grudge...

Photobucket
My Chromaggia outfit! I was so self-concious about this one cos I had the least time to prepare it and I had never done the dress rehearsal in it!!!

Photobucket
THe blue light caught me by surprise, but I was glad cos the light was blinding me -_*

Photobucket
I love how Jerry got this screen shot in!

Photobucket
My fave pic of this scene! ^.^

Photobucket
Fly away!

Photobucket
Big finish! --> O.O <-- and then X.X~!

Jerry took GREAT pics of everyone throughout the night, if you haven�t seen them GO SEE THEM NOW!!!
Jerry�s zenfolio Elective Surgery pictures: http://jerryabuan.zenfolio.com/p786178447

I was on cloud 9, so happy! I so happy, I was running around talking to my parents, they took a picture of me and some of the cast members. Ingred and Eric, who run Chrononaut, came to see us, too! It was good seeing so many familiar faces!

Photobucket
Justin and I, he was giving me my lines when I "forgot" them during Chromaggia :p

We had a total head count of over 110 people and we made a lot of money in donations which is going to help tremendously! Next show is June 26th, Saul will be out by then, he�s coming with me! I hope some of my friends will come have fun in San Diego with us! It was a really special night and still I can't believe I actually get to play my dream part in Repo! the Genetic Opera! SQUEE!

Til next month, I hope to see some of you then!

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!