“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2010-04-19 - 9:25 p.m.

http://themanticoresociety.blogspot.com/

April's Chrononaut was one that I thoroughly enjoyed! The theme was Tango de Vapourpunque, "A Latin take on steampunk as if the Spanish Empire had developed a high atternate technology." I was very excited about this week because, being Mexican, I rarely get to show off many things from my ethnicity in steampunk style, though my eyes have been opened to what I can now! Capt. Wong Wei and I embarked on a rather long journey to our beloved San Deigo, prepped with our outfits for the Elective Surgery shots that our lovely steamy photog Jerry Abuan graciously volunteered to take for us!

We set up at the long table Ingred gave us (Thank you!) and right away there were sites of the Tango spirit floating about everyone's vestments. Some children showed up, cute as can be, taking pictures and walking around being a delight for us to see! Elective Surgery's cast slowly filed in for pictures and festivities. [I was very happy with the photos Jerry worked his magic on while in my Tango outfit. Amanda asked, "Tao of Mag?" I said, "No, TANGO of Mag!" Hahaha...(this joke is funny if you've seen Repo! the Genetic Opera many times)

Photobucket

Full outfit, I threw bits here and there as the afternoon progressed. Nice bit of this and that I do declare!

Photobucket Photobucket

I was ridiculously happy with my outfit AND these pictures!

I felt like dancing the entire night!] As more of the cast came in wearing their outfits, I took my cloak out for the Chase the Morning pictures! [My mother and I had, no joke, just finished this cloak that afternoon! I found the fabric (which is VERY hard to find!) at the lovely alleys of the Los Angeles garment district. The nice man wanted $14 per yard but dropped it to $6 thankfully! I don't have the appropriate waist cincher yet but I will soon. For those who don't know, our first show was postponed due to the theatre double booking that night.] It is a blessing, really, gives us all a chance to fix up all the rough edges!

Before we took the pictures, there was a brief but very compelling demonstration of the tango dance. That pairing made the dance look easy and alluring! They were kind enough to give anyone who wanted to learn a chance for a lesson. A lot of people on the dance floor, and cameras fixed on the dancers, for that event! Our dear Captain was dressed in SWAT gear as a GENcop while taking pictures, Ingred lamented that he was some sort of spy with his camera!

When the time for us to take our pictures came, we were ready! Everyone looked so great as their characters! It was Cody's (our Rotti) birthday which made the night extra special! The fact that he usually dresses in Rotti's style made his "costume" very easy to fashion! ;)

These is my first photos as Blind Mag. Contacts still pending, but Blind Mag nonetheless! (I really REALLY can't see without my glasses)

Photobucket Photobucket

For all of the night's photos, DO PLEASE visit Jerry Abuan's zenfolio page http://jerryabuan.zenfolio.com/p950457374

and for the rest of our fabulous cast's photos, come see our official website, now with the forums running!
http://www.repo-electivesurgery.com/apps/photos/

Amanda is also doing some wonderful art with our pictures, check it all out!!!

After all the photos were taken, we were back on the floor selling our wares, asking for donations and enjoying the music & silent movie combo! The night closed a bit earlier than normal, no matter though, we had a delightful time and we were all very happy to have spent the night in the land of the Tango de Vapourpunque!

[Photobucket

This is my friend Andrew, the Clockwork Knight. This picture can be seen on the gallery page for the night at Chrononaut's website! Teehee, so awesome!]

I do hope you may join us for the next Chrononaut on May 13th! Hint...a splendid time is guaranteed for all! ;)

Til the next steam thing!

http://chrononautclub.com/
http://jerryabuan.zenfolio.com/
http://www.repo-electivesurgery.com/
http://themanticoresociety.blogspot.com/

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!