“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2008-12-26 - 5:20 p.m.

I gained that nickname about two years ago; my ex Mike said I was an emo chiona (cry baby) so he combined the words and called me Chimo. I thought it was really cute so I started using the nickname.

I put (s)Aint in front of it as an ironic additive to my caring yet kinda evil nature. ;) It's also a homage to the Marilyn Manson song.

On the website forum I frequent, we were doing a Google picture search on all our user names and of course my user name is (s)Aint Chimo. There was a lot of weird unrelated picture links to my myspace vids and picture links for my items on the forum. Nothing special.

I checked on Flicker and came up with this:

Photobucket

Wiki explanation:

Chimo

The term Chimo was widely used at one point in the Inuktitut language, which is spoken by the Inuit in northern Canada.

According to folklore, when two people met on the Arctic tundra, they rubbed their chests in a circular motion and said, "Chimo" , meaning "Are you friendly?" The answer was a repeat of the gesture and the word "Chimo!" ("Yes, I am friendly!) ^ . The word is also used as a toast before drinking^ .

The Canadian Military Engineers use "Chimo" as a greeting and cheer word. As well, when they are dismissed from a parade they will yell out "Chimo".

In 1967, the Government of Canada attempted unsuccessfully to make "Chimo" the national greeting of Canada, akin to "Ciao" in Italy. This was the year of the Canadian Centennial, and the Canadian government was eager to establish a unique national culture. The phrase never caught on.

Starting in 1968, a cruel and alarming weapon started to appear in the cult circuits of Canada. Named "Chimo," this horrific weapon's appearance was enough to cause one Mountie to say "It's awful! Why, it's worse than the Royal Canadian Air Farce!" The knife was purportedly used in blood-letting rituals by various cults in Canada. It is believed that its name is somewhat ironic in nature due to its lack of friendly and/or wholesome-seeming qualities.

I learn something new everyday. :p

Photobucket

xoxo, mErci

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!