“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2009-09-30 - 2:30 a.m.

I know it's been a while since I've updated anything, but this is a post that is sure to please! Cos it has pictures a-plenty and vids, too! :D

I'll start with last week on Friday, it was a Chrononaut day (aka steam punk dance in San Diego) where MPsy and I hauled our good to sell, he has a wonderful new line of chandalier chokers everyone likes! He gave me one for my birthday along with a pair of tiny brass scissor earrings that really cut! Eli August played a wonderful set of songs and I talked with the singer afterward, he has a keyhole tattoo on his wrist! He's a really nice young man and the drummer and I talked a bit as well. Afterward the burlesque show stylings of Polka Haunt Us came on and wowed the crowd, MPsy bought her CD and it was so much fun to listen to! After packing up and all, we went straight home cos we had a big weekend ahead of us, the Pyrate Daze at the Queen Mary weekend!

Photobucket

my impromptu stripe attire for vending

Photobucket

Chrononaut photo by Jerry Abuan, the least psychotic of the 3 pictures of MPsy ;p

Photobucket

Tee-hee! I was tickled pink to take this pic!

For more pictures of the guests, check out http://jerryabuan.zenfolio.com

Moving on to Saturday, I had a lot of reservations about going to Pyrate Daze because of a lot of at-home stuff that was brewing but I decided hey, I paid for it, let's have some fun! I had no idea what to wear so I just put together a modded version of what I wore to the Pirate Party our friend Matt threw a few months ago and added some gypsy flair to make it interesting! My brother and his friends trip out on me every time I dress up for steam punk events.

Photobucket

the finished product

Photobucket

close up of my make-up

When we got there, there were fellow Pirates/Steam Punks around the parking lot, it was broken down into 3 floors for our gathering: 1st floor was the dealer's hall, 2nd floor was the celebrity meet & greet and the League of S.T.E.A.M.'s sprawling demonstration & display area (!!!), 3rd floor was the stage for various acts, demonstrations and live performances. There always seemed to be something to see on every floor, I wanted to buy so many nice things but couldn't! I was in awe of the League of S.T.E.A.M.'s unveiling of R.O.S.E., a beautiful clockwork girl! I got really immersed in all their gadgetry and showmanship, they do a fine job in captivating everyone around them! There was also an impressive belly dancer on stage and we ran into many of our good steamy friends there!

Photobucket

Cindy and I showing off our garb!

Photobucket

this belly dancer performed to some metal music, that was awesome!

Photobucket

guess who was near the front row? hehe, MPsy in his airship pirate outfit

Photobucket

Rats!

Photobucket

Nick, armed with his HUG!

Photobucket

Vampyre Detection Apparatus. Free for all to use!

Photobucket

This here is Mic the Scallywag!

Photobucket

Zombie was under the care of Lili most of the day. Good thing she's there to protect us!

Photobucket

in marvel of R.O.S.E., the clockwork girl

Photobucket

close up of R.O.S.E.

Photobucket

close up of R.O.S.E.'s rose battery pack!

Photobucket

"R.O.S.E., display yourself!"

After everything on the floors were packed up, everything started to come together for the Masquerade Ball with musical guests Abney Park! MPsy and I didn't have a change of clothes so we didn't have grand ball attire. We decided next year we'll get a room so as to be prepared for the costume changes and such! I sat with the lovely Heather, our friends Darren and Stephanie, a new young lady I had the pleasure of meeting called Brianna and some members of The League of S.T.E.A.M.! We had a hearty and very delicious 3 course meal and afterward there was a raffle for the Ghost Tour the Queen Mary offers! Many pictures where taken and a big group of us took shots at the makeshift studio provided at the masquerade! (I have not received those pictures yet) Then Abney Park came on with their new female vocalist and sang some great songs, a lot of new songs, and mingled with the audience!

Photobucket

Left to right: myself, Brianna, Heather, and Stephanie

Photobucket

Myself with the lovely Ms. Brianna!

Photobucket

The Merry Masqued!

Photobucket

Left to Right: Brianna, Stewart, Darren, Stephanie, and myself (MPsy took the photo, proclaiming to be the Steam Punk Paparazzi!)

Photobucket

Abney Park bringing down The Britannia Salon!

Photobucket

Sir Jerry and Lady Cindy, her tricorn ship hat and all! She got to hold Nathanial's violin during Airship Pirates!

Day two came and after church I put together my outfit and was dubbed Peacock in Progress. MPsy suggested I wear the green blouse I had for my birthday because it would go great with the choker he gave me for my birthday! I said Happy Birthday to my brother, he turned 21. I haven't seen him since. At the Queen Mary, it consisted of hanging out mostly with the League of S.T.E.A.M. for their show & tell workshop. I talked a lot with Russel who I previously had the delight of meeting at the Bat's Day Black Market. He was quite tired from a night of rabble rousing and little sleep! After the workshop, we all congregated to the 3rd floor for the costume contest! Heather insisted I participate and I'm glad she did! There were a lot of great costumes and you got added points for presentation. I was on and off that stage so quick, I didn't know what to say! HAHAHA! I will do a better job next time. MPsy did a nice little shtick as well! The 3 winners got free admission to the Steam Con! Excellent!

Photobucket

Peacock in Progress!

Photobucket

Close up of the chandelier choker MPsy made and gave to me for my birthday!

Photobucket

Close up of my make-up

Photobucket

On the last day, the pirates rested...with GROG!

Photobucket

This is steam punk; anything goes!

Photobucket

Typewriter Button Vested gal!

Photobucket

Capt. Russ and I!

Photobucket

The winners of the costume contest!

Photobucket

Miss Gail & Miss Syrin

Photobucket

MPsy, Moi, Brianna and Stewart

Photobucket

Heather, myself and Brianna, 3 steamy ladies!

Photobucket

This young lady had keyholes on her inner arm! Fantastic!

Photobucket

The League of S.T.E.A.M. sometime run out of steam near the end of a big to-do!

Photobucket

myself with Nick! (I have got to stop looking like I'm scared to touch people in pictures! >.< )

The day ended quickly as everyone packed up early so MPsy, Brianna, Stewart, Heather, Syrin, and myself decided to go to an Irish bar a short drive from the Queen Mary. It was called The Aulde Dubliner and when we walked in some guys were like, "Yeah, dance for us!" O.O There was a huge table off to the side of musicians playing Irish tunes with their fiddles and flutes with their children! I'd never been to a bar like this before! After we were seated, Brianna started adding everyone on Face Book and we all exchanged our information and took pictures! The food there was excellent and being the designated driver made MPsy very happy! After saying our goodbyes we headed home, us with the Polka Haunt Us CD playing!

Unfortunately, I got a call from Saul on the way home stating that he wouldn't be calling as often if at all and that there was to be a riot at the prison come the next day. I told him my I Love You and Be Safe and he told me his I Love You and I Will. When I came home I was sad but exhausted so I tried not to pay too much mind. I know better than to worry but I can't help it, I love Saul. All and all though, it was GREAT being able to be myself with others who share my interests, fun to not have any real worries or concerns, and a pleasure revisiting and meeting new people!


Photobucket

Heather Forever Luminous and Stewart

Photobucket

MPsy and Brianna

Photobucket

Syrin, Myself and MPsy

Photobucket

The gang's all here!

*deep breath in* So from that point up to this point, I lagged big time in posting this and putting away all the supplies and clothing from that weekend, hanging with Cyrene, Keil, Sierra, and Bryan watching Drag Me to Hell and video game play ^.^, have been very sick & worried (though I got a letter from Saul, thank God, saying though the riot happened it was not in his part of the prison <3 Relief) and sick alone with a sinus infection and a nasty stomach bug (I had to take several breaks writing this because of my gagging, Matty was awesome enough to take me to get some soda to settle my stomach, YOU'RE AWESOME, MATTY!), had a lot of yelling matches, hung out with old friends, had a massive panic attack at school after the lecture included abortions that left me hysterically crying in the bathroom, went to confession and felt more peace than I have in the past few months, went to therapy and decided that there are limits to what Western medicine can provide for me, am planning on getting off my pills, switching to Fios, made some firm affirmations in my life, went to a lecture about the history of Kaiser Permanente and the man who started it, Dr. Sydney Garfield, toured the Baldwin Park Historical Museum and became inspired about going to college to major in history focusing on the Victorian/Georgian/Early 20th Century eras. *and -SIGH-*

Also, at the monthly Repo! the Genetic Opera shadow cast, Terrance Zdunich (aka Graverobber!) was there to promote his new graphic novel, The Molting, along with the other artists Brian Johnson and Oceano Ransford! They signed my copy and I got to shake Terrance Zdunich's hand! Waaaah fangirl!!!! He complimented my Repo! outfit, as did others, and Oceano Ransford mentioned that he made the logo for the shirt I was wearing! Fantastic! The show was a smash, next month is the costume contest and I am thrilled to pieces! Theo met me there and he was happy he got to come and participate in this awesome night! He took a picture of me with Terrance Zdunich! ^.^


Photobucket

another outfit I just threw together! I kid you not, I watched a video on YouTube before I left to cut the Repo! shirt into a more flattering, girly top!

Photobucket

proud owner of a signed copy of the limited printing of The Molting!!!

Photobucket

OMGosh Terrance Zdunich! My eyes scream fangirlfangirl!

Yesterday I went with my family to my Grandpa's memorial mass today. He would have been 76 today. It was a touching mass and great that most of the family was there to be there for my grandmother. I was sad because I miss him everyday but I'm happy because his legacy is still remembered. Grandma gave me a bracelet and told me it was meant from my Grandpa to give to me on my birthday. It's a beautiful jewel beaded bracelet. I also got the rosary necklace she gave me for my birthday blessed and dipped it in holy water from my church and my grandmother's church. We were going to visit his grave but my grandmother wasn't ready to. So we didn't.

So that's what's been going on with me. I've been an EXTREMELY busy spider! And there's no signs in letting up yet! I really need to make time to chill but we'll see if that can happen.

Be well, all!

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
nothing compares to a quiet evening alone

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!