“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2009-12-30 - 12:15 p.m.

My dad's mother, Nana, has been in a coma for about a week and was barely reacting to touch/noise for the last 2 days, the most activity we'd seen her have in the past week. She passed away early this morning at 89, and was ill the last few years of her life. So ill that the daughter that lived with her needed help so occasionally the family would take turns taking her out on weekends. It got to the point where she couldn't walk too well so she'd stay at home with us. Then we couldn't take her out of the house at all so we'd go to her house to spend time with her.

She broke her hip earlier in the month and healed! Unfortunately a clot in her head made her have a stroke and she slipped into a coma a few days later. I'll miss her, she was always kind and raised 7 kids, 2 grandchildren who lived with her and 1 out of 2 great-grandchildren. This is the 2nd death in the family since my otherwise completely healthy Grandpa's sudden passing on my mother's side six months ago due to complications of a rapid, aggressive canger.

My dad's family didn't really like to congregate with each other in recent years, Nana was the sticky glue that kept most of the family together. There was already a split on a lot of the decisions on what to do for Nana even before she passed away, I know this is going to get very intense very fast and this will probably be the last time I see a lot of my family members together again. It's sad to say but this is what's probably going to happen. I love my family and I don't want us to be apart but having the estranged people come back because of my Nana's illness was already causing tension. *sigh*

Whatever happens, I do hope that we'll agree on honoring whatever wishes my Nana had and that we'll do so as peacefully as possible. Then after these wishes are granted, everyone can go to their corners of the world if they wish to or stay close if they want to. This is a very different family dynamic that I'm used to seeing and I have to get used to it. I hope they know Nana is watching and that she'd want them all to get along.

Goodbye, Nana, I love you and I pray you found your comfort and that you're in God's arms.
<3
1920-2009

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!