“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2008-04-27 - 3:50 p.m.

SooOooOoo...

Last night was the long-awaited Skum Love show at the Roxy. I purposely did not listen to any of the other bands ahead of time so it would be a new experience for me. I got my tickets from D of Heroes of the F.E.D.E.R.A.T.I.O.N.

who was just aweosmely rock-tastic about getting them for me!!! THANK YOU!!!! <3

Saul and I got to the venue a bit shaken because a car decided he wanted to turn around in the middle of the freeway and caused everyone to break hard. I'm glad I'm a better driver and less prone to freaking out that I used to be! I've been to this area so many times now I know automatically how to get there. :DAs we got in, Reverend H had just finished a cover of Don't You Forget About Me and was wrapping up. I ran into Cole and her posse, who I met at the last Skum Love show. :) She cool peeps, she's like, tiny perfection! ^.^ We chatted about the MSI show and other things, it was lovely. :) We also saw who we thought was Julia from Fuse TV, we weren't sure but there was a gal going around interviewing some people and taping the show.

Operation Downfall came on and blew me away! They sounded like the stuff I listened to back when I thought that metal music was the devil LOL it brought me back, I really loved it!!! I especially liked the last song they did. "This song is about a man...what is his name you say? His name is Robert Paulson!!!" hahah, I LOLed cos I barely watched Fight Club a few weeks ago so I got the joke.

They had a spine for a mic stand and IVs filled with blood on the drum kit, clever!

Heroes of the F.E.D.E.R.A.T.I.O.N.

came on afterwards, D, the lead singer (who hooked me up with the tickets) came on and I was like *drool* he was fucking HAWT and I loved the way he moved on stage!!! I was glad to get an up-close view of everything! This was the band Jer was supposed to come with me to see but he bailed, I can see why he totally digs this band!!! They had a lot of energy that really drove the show and I was grooving to their beats the whole set, they got me pumped!!

Skum Love came on and started singing their new hit, I got lots of pictures from them! They threw Skum in the crowd and he surfed a few times! They even had some gals on stage for a short time dancin'! The Heroes front man is also their bassist, he covered his face with a bandanna the whole time and took off his shirt. O.O got pics of dat, too. :p woo-ooo! The pit moved around as they jammed out!! Unfortunately I was way tired from having worked earlier and my shoes were killing me, note to self, DON'T wear 4 inch heels when you know you're gonna be standing a while! hahah I was contemplating going home after that, but I really wanted to stick it out and watch the last band. I'm glad I did.

:D

The last band, Ottos Daughter, took me by surprise! All the previous bands were all male, when I saw a female lead singer I was like, "ohhhh!" It was a different sound than the previous bands and I liked it differently than the other bands, it was really a visual sensory joy!!! Their songs were kewl and it was just way entertaining all around.

My fave part was when the singer donned a military cap saying "This is old school Ottos Daughter!" and sang, I liked that song the best! At the end of the last song, this one tiny little fan and a couger looking woman came on stage and started groping the singer, it was madness I say!!!

Throughout the whole night, Reverend H would go on stage during the different performances, stage diving, and randomly hugged a bunch of us.

High energy, I'll say!!! But that's all I'll say muahaha

After the show, a slightly deaf Saul and I headed home after picking up some Jack in the Box to go. There was TRAFFIC up the ASS as soon as we got on until we hit the junctions and then again after we barely got on the 10, we were stuck on the freeway for a good 30 min. in traffic which is odd at 2am but meh. Lots of road work and whatnot. After I dropped of Saul at his home, when I was on my way home, I noticed that there was a hillside of fire in the mountains. It was the most beautiful and terrifying thing I'd ever seen in my life. I was amazed.

Well, here are some of the pics from last night! Click to enlarge!!!
(I ALSO HAVE SOME IN MY CLUBBING/GIGS/SHOWS FOLDER ON MYSPACE!)



My hair/make-up/outfit for the night


I love this pinstripe set! :) I haven't worn it since New Years 07!!!


Saul in the car


me and Cole, she looked AWESOME!!!


Cole and her friend, I forgot her name!!! :(


Skummy playing to the crowd!


D of Heroes also bassing for Skum Love


the guys on stage


hmm...really good....;)


good shot of Skum's tattoos


Skum and Reverend H


Skum and Reverend H


Skum love Guitarist doing a riff


Love his goggles!!!


Ottos daughter on stage


I like this effect! Glowing green!


playing a way sparkly guitar!!!


Ottos Daughter rocking it!


let it out!!! yeah!!!!


this is my fave shot of the night, that hat was shapren!!!


"This is Old School Ottos Daughter!!!"


fan love from all fronts!!!!


at the end of the show, still mischievous looking!!! Xp

All and all, it was the best metal show I've been to in AGES!!!! I had a great time, hung out with great people, heard some great fucking music and saw a terrific show!!! :D Keep rocking out, peeps!!!!

and check out these bands!!!!


OPERATION DOWNFALL

HEROES OF THE FEDERATION

SKUM LOVE

OTTOS DAUGHTER

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I'm so hardcore, I eat nails for breakfast...without any milk!!!

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!