“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2009-06-06 - 6:47 p.m.

MPsy and I headed up to San Diego yesterday for a dance. I had no idea he was going to be a vendor at the dance! It took me four hours to get ready cos I had NO idea what to wear but I put together an outfit that revolved around a little hat that Tako made for me and a Lolita dress I got at ALA a year and a half ago that I never wore. WIN! Everyone said I looked cute! After smuggling in food for MPsy (where a tiny little boy who could barely walk came up to me all gangster & tapped me on the leg three times ADORABLE and getting a little disoriented due to my low blood sugar) I hung out around the area perusing the other booths, talked to a very cute designer who sold me a cute brooch of a butterfly with a peacock feather sticking out of it, and listened to the band Unextrodinary Gentlemen. They were a pretty cool band! Ingrid was there being a social butterfly and her husband, Eric, spun tunes in between the band while a silent film played on a screen in the back of us.

MPsy and I took turns handling the booth and I was just so honored he trusted me to run the booth for him! There were a LOT of interesting people, it was great fun talking and looking at everyone, seeing their outfits and getting to know where they're from! Lots of pictures taken of MPsy, it was his grand night of the opening of Obscure Discoveries! A lot of people really liked his items and there was a slew of e-mails for the mailing list! He got a lot of compliments on his outfit and wares, a lot of people said they liked my outfit, too! (especially my Alchemy 1977 necklace) I was very proud of MPsy for the work he did and myself for finally getting the hang of this type of dress, I love steampunk!

After the dance and getting the leftover stuff in the car, we went to a diner to load up on coffee and water. They charged us 18 cents for water! Times is tough! A man from Socal steampunk asked to take pictures of us in an alley with some other people, it was great fun! It was also there I realized I lost my new brooch, MPsy was kind enough to find it for me! And it never fails, everyone things we're together when we go to these things. I guess we're steampunk in sync that way! LOL MPsy says it's cos we act like an old couple who are already over eachother LOL I guess so. I know I'm super fortunate to have an awesome friend like him. :) We went home talking about the successful night, listening to cabaret and electronica music while I was completely inspired to make some things of my own or look for more things to sell. I also lost my brooch again in his car >.< I'm a ditz. It was a great night and I'm glad I went, one I truly lived and made me think more about what to do with some of my time and talents.


Photobucket

before the magic: slip gown and hair in curlers! glamour!

Photobucket

It took me AN HOUR to get this tiny hat to stay in my head! AN HOUR!!!

Photobucket

The whole ensemble: tiny hat, Alchemy necklace, lolita dress, black corset with cameo middle, lace overdress/train, stockings, granny boots

Photobucket

I added some feathers to the tiny hat :) p.s. thrift stores rock!

Photobucket

MPsy bares his wares for sale!

Photobucket

He was standing like this the entire night LOL MPsy, the licensed junk dealer!

Photobucket

Mad scientists are mad!

Photobucket

This lovely gal had a wonderful strappy skirt!

Photobucket

steampunk talent ;) muahah

Photobucket

just kicking back, reaping the spoils ^.^

Photobucket

Unextraordinary Gentlemen rocking the show! (one of them? is a girl!)
Photobucket

Met this lovely lady at the Abney Park show @ the Knitting Factory, great lady!

Photobucket

More different styles of steampunk

Photobucket

Friends! This man is a photographer and did an impromptu photo shoot of a few of us =) GREAT fun!

Photobucket

(s)Aint Chimo stitting at the booth

Photobucket

Eric built these lights out of old cigar boxes for the base!

Photobucket

FREAKS! Steamy diner scene

Photobucket

Right back at ya! pose

Photobucket

I is business pose

Photobucket

embellished

Photobucket

a better look at my new brooch!


Today started off slow, I went to a thrift shop with my mom and found TONS of picture frame photo albums, angel decor, etc. to redecorate and resell. I also got a few freakin' awesome pieces of steampunk clothing, I'm so happy I found such great things and most of them were half off!

My father called me while we were there; my grandmother called because my grandfather was in the emergency room at our local hospital but said not to hurry cos they'd be there a while. I was worried right away, my grandpa's been in and out of the hospital with different ailments, I love the ol' man. After getting our stuff and eating some lunch, we came to the hospital to find them in the parking lot talking to their best friends with my uncle. Turns out my grandmother's best friend's daughter works in emergency so she called her mother to alert my father. My grandfather has Bell's Palsy (paralysis of the facial nerve resulting in inability to control facial muscles on the affected side) and it is treatable, THANK GOD, I seriously thought he had a stroke with the way he was contorting his face. He said he couldn't feel his feet, his eye was swollen almost shut and he felt awful & tired. He said he's going to steal me away for a week so when that time comes, I'll be in East LA so I can drive him and my grandma around, I'm so down for that, I love my grandparents! My grandma just had hand surgery, so my uncle took them to the ER. My uncle told me to trade in my car for a nice one under $9k that I won't have to fix up all the time and make payments. I think I can manage that. :)

Also, my friend called to tell me he's got a girlfriend. I'm happy for him and hope this one works out alright, I know he can be a good boyfriend, someone to take him away from WoW! haha It's a big turn around from him proclaiming proudly that he didn't want a ball and chain LOL but then again that's what my mentality was like before I met Saul. <3 One day you wake up and know you want to give it a shot.

Speaking of which, still no letters from Saul. It's been too long, he's never gone this long without writing to me. Mom says he's probably still trying to get settled up there and these things take time but I'm worried sick about him. I fear the worst, but I can still feel him around me so I know he's okay, I just don't know what's wrong that he hasn't written. I miss him so much. I dream that he's already home and planning to surprise me one day by being on my doorstep. I can dream...

So, here's to the future and whatever it may hold. I know for sure tonight I'm going to busy myself with more cosplay making, possibly taking pictures of the things I want to sell, and tomorrow Matty and I are going to hang out! Yay! :) To tomorrow, cos we can't do anything about yesterday.
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
SAINT?! Someone thinks highly of themselves!

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!