“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2008-06-17 - 5:58 p.m.

For those of you who don't know my friend Adrian, let me tell you the backstory...

I met Adrian my junior year of high school in my second year of conformation class. It was my first year in that class and the first day Adrian showed up a little late, he'd been in that class the year prior. We were paired up as partners for the year to do certain projects and stuff and we developed a friendship. We talked quite a bit and he started going to church more. I found out he was in band at our rival school so we saw each other at band competitions. He'd come to our school dances and we'd go out in our small church group to the mall and the movies. He was very physically active, always doing flips and stuff :p I had a big crush on him but my friend had a bigger crush on him so I never pursued him.

In October of 2003 we went to a retreat and it was there that I realized how great and wonderful a friend he was to me; he'd never started or been in any drama, he was always a helpful person to talk to. I wrote him a letter saying so but I never gave it to him. And that Friday he was in a car accident that killed one person in the car and left Adrian in a coma for three months.

The driver was drunk.

I cried and prayed and visited him and pleaded with God for three months for him not to take him away from us. I listened to the CDs he let me borrow and agonized over not giving him the letter I wrote to him. A lot of us prayed and visited and, in January 2004, he woke up. Adrian wasn't the same in the sense that he had some speech problems and he was, sad to say, a little off. In May he came back to church and he had problems remembering some people but he remembered everything about the mass.

I still see Adrian with his mother who is very protective of him around town. He's gotten a lot better since the accident. He graduated a year later but is going to college and a bunch of trade schools for different things. His mom always talks with me and I feel very honoured that she trusts me to take him places.

He called me yesterday to talk but I couldn't talk for very long so I invited him to eat lunch with me. He nearly died and told me that no one hangs out with him anymore, that he doesn't have that many people that go out with him and such. I think it's so very sad that that's the case now. He may have some things different about him but he's still the same wonderful, awesome guy that he always was.

I picked him up from his house and talked with his mother for a long time about pattern making, silk screening, her husband's company, her and Adrian taking accounting classes, etc. I told her about esty and ebay, how she can sell her things there and she offered to help me in dress making. Squee! Adrian suggested El Appetiz and I've never been but I heard the food is awesome so off we went. It's a small little Italian joint and it was soooo good!!! Adrian and I talked and talked about school, parents, other outings to go to, everything. I let him talk and talk, I was glad to be there to listen and give feedback. He asked about my boyfriend because he always used to joke about me falling in love every week and when I told him I didn't have one he couldn't understand why.

We made plans to go out to a movie this Saturday with a cousin of his, hopefully I can make it. I do very much enjoy his time and it's sad that we haven't hung out that much but I'm really glad that he can call on me because I feel that I help him and I care so very much about him and want him to be happy.

*sigh* where does the time go?

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

so I heard the world's gonna end pretty soon

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!