“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2010-01-19 - 10:29 p.m.

The first Chrononaut (the steampunk night club) of the year, the Beggar's Market! Chrononaut is now going to be held at Queen Bee's in San Diego once a month on Thursdays! Check out http://chrononautclub.com/

The idea behind this night was the old soup kitchen, tramp kind of look. We were all asked to bring our old fabric scraps, clothes, shoes, whatever cos they were going to be dumped out on to a large table. Whoever wanted whatever piece they'd like could take it and the remaining items would be donated to charity. I was all too excited about this cos I like donating things and I had a lot to donate! I was completely stumped on what to wear (as I usually am) but I made a great outfit anyhow!

I made a few new pieces for this night for MPsy and I's Obscure Discoveries booth. (a faction of The Manticore Society, search us on Myspace and Facebook!) All these items are still for sale, please leave a comment or message if interested in any piece:


Photobucket

Vanity charm bracelet

Photobucket

Love not charm bracelet

Photobucket

Luggage tags necklaces in silver and brass colours

Photobucket

Royal portrait chocker

Photobucket

Antique berry & pearl swirl earrings

Photobucket

This is not for sale, but worth talking about: I needed a sturdier jewelry holder for the table so I picked this lovely little item up. This used to be HOT PINK, my dad painted primer on it and I sponged on some antique paint on the raised & edged parts

Photobucket

This is only one of the tables Obscure Discoveries had that day :)

This day was doubley special cos the Elective Surgery (Repo! shadowcast in San Diego) had a booth this month! (find out more at http://sandiegorepocast.webs.com/ search "Elective Surgery: San Diego Repo! Shadow Cast" on Myspace and Facebook!) Amy headed the booth and asked for fund raising ideas. I was completely black until I thought about doing some movie themed merch to give out for donations. I stood up all night the night before making stuff for both booths. I had to use the Photoshop on my old dinosaur comp cos my new laptop isn't compatible with the old CS2 program. GRRR, was frustrating but oh-so worth it!!! I also picked up some Zydrate and Zytrate cupcakes for the booth, it was a good bunch of stuff! We also had a gal make some jewelry for the booth as well, there was also some posters to give out for donations. We also held a raffle for a lovely hand mirror, just like-a Pavi! Our table got a lot of attention and some lovely generous people helped us out for the cause!

Photobucket

Our lovely assistant director and director, Amanda & Amy at the Elective Surgery booth!

A lot of the cast members came to see what this "steampunk" business is all about, some already knew what was up :p It was great seeing everyone there to get together as a group and rally everyone to help us entertain them!

Photobucket

Megan and I, awe, she looks shy!

Photobucket

Dash (aka Nathan/Repo Man) and I, he's soooo shy! LOL

Photobucket

Megan and Dash, he put the "punk" in that steampunk evening!

Photobucket

Amanda and Dash, don't they look cute!


MPsy and I got there late cos of traffic and whatnot >.< I asked him if I looked homeless and he said, "I'm not going to say anything, but nice costume!" :p I should also say that MPsy is playing many supporting roles in the Repo! show, he's a character in real life so this will be fun to show off all his silly sides!

Photobucket

yes, that's a bird in my hair! I was the crazy bird lady

Photobucket

MPsy's doesn't look too bummy so I asked him for money buahaha!

There was lots of great music courtesy of Professor Greyshade, Ingred passed out hot soup, a contest for the bummiest of us all, wonderful pictures taken by Jerry (http://jerryabuan.zenfolio.com/p625010421) and fun all around by the wonderful characters that came to have fun!


Photobucket

This cute gal had a neat little hat! wanted to take her home but no room in the trunk
Photobucket

This is the most bare I've ever seen the Clockwork Knight and his buddy, ever!
Photobucket

music man, play me a song!

Photobucket

This lovely mirror was won by the lady on the left!

Photobucket

Album pose! Yeah!!!

Photobucket

Will play for food...ironically, this was taken after we ate :p

After the club closed up shop, Ingred and Eric invited us over to the little diner down the street. A group of us came, ate, talked a LOT about this and that, mostly steampunk design ideas of course! I had a great time getting to know these people that I see so seldom, I oh so dig other people's ideas and thought processes, their triumphs and things that need work, it's great! I very much enjoy getting out of my area to experience new things and absorb all the wonder and imagination that comes with each steampunk outing!

MPsy took these pictures in the alley outside the diner:

Photobucket

Spare some change? My attack pigeon will pursued you!

Photobucket

MPsy said something about Fiddler on the Roof :p

So much fun we did have! Going home was bleeding SCARY though! I needed gas so I programmed my GPS to find a local gas station. Well, on the way we had to drive through this eerie, dark, winding road, swear it was like Silent Hill down there, OMGosh!!! It didn't help that MPsy was whispering really scary things, I was getting so creeped out!!! The first gas station we went to was locked and closed, the second one was difficult to get into but I got the gas I needed. There was another scare when we got stopped by the Boarder Patrol, I thought I'd accidentally driven us to TJ! That would have been baaaaaad. O.O

We did eventually make it home in one piece and I just threw everything down and went to sleep, very tired after everything but I had a great time and very much look forward to the next Chrononaut and the next activity with Elective Surgery!

Photobucket

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

The crazy bird lady has spoken!

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!