“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2005-08-20 - 10:51 p.m.

A little bit o' family history: My grandmother and grandfather immigrated from Egypt to Mexico when they were very young. They new that there was more oppertunity in America for people who spoke Spansih than for those who spoke Arabic. So they made the trip across the sea and stood in the country until they immersed themselves in the culture and changed their last name from Nazereth to Baltierra after the family they stood with. By that time, they had already had a few children and brought them to America. They learned Spanish fluently through their fostering family and taught their children to speak Spanish, too. They lived in the projects in LA until all their children where grown up and then they moved to La Puente. My grandfather died when I was in third grade. None of my aunts or uncles knew that they were origionally from Egypt until my grandfather died and my grandmother told them. My grandmother, Antonia, still lives in La Puente with her daughter, grandaughters, and great-grandson.

So today was the big family reunion. Everyone was there from my dad's side of the family except for my real dad and his family. :( My brother and I are the only "goths" in the family. Everyone else is either laid back or gangsta. Nothing much to say about it except for the food and drinks were awesome and my Aunt Sandy's house is beautiful! Oh, and I found out that my Uncle Robert doesn't like me or my brother. This is wierd because I thought that he liked me and had faith in me, but whatever, this is comming from a man who's bankrupt, has a bitchy wife, and diabetes and STILL drinks. *sigh*

Oh, and my Aunt Sandy has a margarita slurpee machine. :p Yum! I didn't have any, but my mom had a few and was kind of buzzed by the end of the night. I think she needed to be, though. :p

Tomorrow I go see the king tut exhibit with Blake tomorrow. This should be fun. :) If it's not, I'm going to kill him by singing horribly off-key all the way back home. :p

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Did you care when I spilled my hot coffee on my pants? No! So I think you can handle this king cobra bite on your own!

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!