“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2009-07-09 - 8:46 p.m.

The next day; the funeral.

We left early enough but seeing how the Michael Jackson memorial was on the same day, traffic was bad. We got there in enough time though. The limo driver came to pick my grandmother up, my cousin Michael, my mother and myself road along. We got to the church where there were a few early people. By the time the mass started, so many people showed up in the little church! As family, the wife, children and grandchildren stood behind the casket once the pall bearers took it into the church. We followed the casket to the front of the church and there was the mass. Mom translated the kind words the priest said for me, saying how full of life and how happy he is, how he'd always help out. Once the mass was over, they took the casket back into the hearse and we went back into the limo, sans my cousin.

During the slow drive to the cemetery, so very many cars followed close by. Grandma was crying, telling us how when she and grandpa always went to funerals, it was together, she never imagined she had to go to one alone. Mom reassured her that grandpa is always with us. When we got to the site, it was a mass of people. So many family and friends came to pay their last respects to my grandfather. After the priest blessed the coffin one last time, each one of my grandfather's children received a crucifix along with my grandmother and we could all take a flower from the burial wreath on top of the coffin. I got a yellow rose. My cousin Leacha told everyone where to go afterward and said, "If Manuel was here, he'd say, 'You guys are too serious! Give me a break!'" And she was right, he would say that!

After we left, everyone came to the American Legion where the reception for my grandfather commenced. The whole hall was filled! I put on the mixed CD that was playing at the wake while everyone looked at the collages one last time. Everyone was in higher spirits and the catered food was delicious! After it was all over, everyone helped to clean up and the kids were running around having a great time. It was the end of that day, but it is the beginning of the rest of our lives without my grandfather's physical presence but there is not going to be a day that goes by that I don't think about him. I'm going to make him proud and achieve all the things that I want to do and he'll be proud of me, I'm sure. It's time to move on but never forget, it's time to pick up where we left off and take care of my family, my grandmother, and myself.


Photobucket

My grandmother in the morning, sporting the pin with her children's birthstones on it

Photobucket
Photobucket

the wreathes outside the church

Photobucket

Left to Right: moi avec mi papa & grandma

Photobucket

cousin Alex, Aunt Enid, Uncle Michael, and cousin Michael

Photobucket

My cousin Sabrina, her little boy James and her boyfriend Brandon

Photobucket

Joey, Jer, Dad, Mom and myself

Photobucket

My grandmother with her best friends Manuel and Jenny

Photobucket

Enid looking on at my cousin Robert, Vicky and their little boy

Photobucket

Primo Beno, cousin Alex and Uncle Michael

Photobucket

silly James! I got him mid chomp while nomming on cookies

Photobucket

Grandma with one of my relatives

Photobucket

my Aunt Irma and Uncle Danny

Photobucket

The burial site, these wreaths all came from different families and organizations

Photobucket
Photobucket

These were very elaborate and big, my grandfather LOVES flowers

Photobucket

My cousin Shi and her baby girl!

Photobucket

My grandmother, her friend Augustina, grandma's sister Christina and Christina's grandaughter Emily

Photobucket

Joey and Jer

Photobucket

Alex, he looks so happy!

Photobucket

Nice pic of Sabrina!

Photobucket

Danny, a good friend of my Uncle Michael's. He used to live in my grandfather's back house

Photobucket

My Tio Mud getting attacked by my cousin Alejandra!

Photobucket

Grandma with her brother, my Tio Mud, you can't deny the resemblance!

Photobucket

Joey, Jer and cousin Michael

Photobucket

Jer and cousin Michael

Photobucket

my little cousins kept playing with the toys on my purse, they were trying to take some, too!

Photobucket

huddled up family members :)

Photobucket

my mom, a family member, and my auntie ana

To my grandfather, who lived such a wonderful life and who's energy is still felt no matter where he is. <3

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

did you notice he was buried where all the children are?

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!