“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2009-06-18 - 2:04 a.m.

I suppose I should give a bit of an explanation of this week so far. Sunday I went to a steam punk picnic at the Balboa museum in San Diego with MPsy and his lovely, articulate and intelligent friend Pockets. As soon as we got there, we were rushed into a scavenger hunt were we won 2nd place! We had a great picnic made up of delish homemade chickens from MPsy, various teas and water and sparkling cider courtesy of Pockets. I brought a lot of cup cakes! So many that I gave as many as I could to everyone at the picnic, even as a donation to a street performing band who dressed up like robots! They were called Steam Powered Giraffe, I was amused to see them! We walked around various parts of this huge compound and took many a picture! When we were grouped together, so many people came up to us and asked questions, it was delightful!


Photobucket

FORE! MPsy's walking stick doubles as a horrible driver @ Balboa museums in San Diego

Photobucket

The lovely Miss Pockets @ Balboa museums in San Diego

Photobucket

Moi ala Steam Punk summer dress @ Balboa museums in San Diego

Photobucket

Group 2 for the scavenger hunt. 2nd place!

Photobucket

This man was made to be in the lime light!

Photobucket

Pockets, MPsy, Jo & Moi

Photobucket

Consorting with fellow steam powered friends!

Photobucket

3rd place group! Scavenger hunt @ Balboa museums

Photobucket

Ingrid & Pal @ Balboa museums in San Diego

Photobucket

Steamy gal and Cindi @ Balboa museums in San Diego

Photobucket

Fellow picnicers @ Balboa museums in San Diego

Photobucket

We met this bunch previously @ the Chrononaut event

Photobucket

Steam Powered Giraffe!

Photobucket

These tree roots were like veins, we're up pretty high here, these were massive!

Photobucket

Squirrel!!!

Photobucket

The Lilly pond near the botanical gardens @ Balboa museums in San Diego

Photobucket

Camera man? Man with mic? what's going on here?

Photobucket

Ah! A protest to support democracy in Iran!

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

This door was huge! It made us look tiny!

Photobucket

see what I mean?

Photobucket

The Capt. making it happen!

Photobucket

I was semi-stalking this chick, oi, she was a vision!

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

MPsy's come-hither look! ;)

Photobucket

Make a wish...

Photobucket

Cast a spell!

After our photo shoots, we went to go visit a friend of ours while we listened to Dr. Horrible's Sing Along Blog. This was my first time ever hearing it, it was wonderful! We ate at a nice Mexican restaurant, talked about all sorts of things, I was having a great time! Great night out!

Monday was the first day of summer school. It's going to be VERY faced paced which is good, I like it this way, we'll get more done! And there's not too many people in class now so it's more personable. That same night, I was starting to get sick. *sigh* I tried to treat myself to prevent it but no luck, by the next day I was sick but still fighting it. And I suppose the combo of me being sick, albuteral and Tylenol allergy pills made for some strange dreams. O.O Someone mentioned that I should get the Cold Buster smoothie at Jamba Juice, so I went with my mom to get one for myself and a mango one for my dad. Afterward, I got invited over to hang out with Le Tigre, so I did for a bit, watched Higurashi which was fun. :) He came and hung out afterward at my house unexpectedly later, which was cool though my room is a wreck right now.

I stood up late studying and watching Dr. Horrible's Sing Along Blog (for the 2nd time that day, it's totally aweosme!) and even at 2am, I didn't feel like I slept at all, and I do mean at all. But at the same time I feel very awake. Like I can stay up forever, it's so weird. I tried taking a nap and I couldn't sleep at all. I'm still very awake. I was so alert I drove my car onto the lawn before 2am so I could avoid yet another parking ticket! I set out early in my scrubs for Fina's to let her borrow some clothes for an internship. I then went to Jamba Juice to get my cold buster smoothie. I was also wicked hungry and was thinking about getting a burger but they have food now at Jamba Juice so I got a Mediterranean flat bread, it was so good! At school we took our two tests were I got 2 A's! Sweet! Angelica was showing me some videos from Wayne/Jayne County, good stuff!

When I was coming out of class, I got a voice mail from Dad, so I called him thinking Jer did something but it turned out that my grandfather (who some of you know as The Colonel cos he looks like Colonel Sanders) was in the emergency room again! I rushed over quickly and ran into my cousin Sabrina in the hallway with her son, James, who was probably really tired cos he was crying, poor thing! After she put him down, he walked over to me and I held his hand till we got to the emergency room, it was so great. I can't wait to have my little ones in time. My aunt, grandma and parents were already there. We chatted a bit until I went to visit him. My uncle Manuel was already there. It was funny walking back there cos I was in scrubs and the doctors and nurses looked at me like, "HuH?" haha. My grandpa was in bad shape, his blood pressure was high, his face still contorted, sweating up a storm and very thirsty. His sodium and potassium levels are also low. He didn't say much but he looked so uncomfortable and anxious. :( My uncle and I chatted about my schooling, things I can do when I get a job to save up faster and put away for retirement. He's the go-to guy about retirement, he retired at 46 with full pension! As I was leaving, he said he was proud of me and my grandpa thanked me for visiting him.

Grandma wanted to walk around for a while, while we were talking about it I ran into Saul's friend Sal! He's a security worker there. We briefly talked and then he went back to work. It was nice to see him. We walked around to the pharmacy where I asked a pharmasist what would be good for my symptoms since the Zicam wasn't really doing much. I got kid's cold syrup but he said just to take 2 doses instead of 1! haha. He said it'd make me sleepy. He lied. >.< I'm still very awake. Maybe I should take more? O.O oi. We're going to take shifts to sleep over my grandma's house to help her with some of the duties my grandpa usually does. I'm looking forward to helping them right now. I love my family, especially my grandparents, they're always there to give it to me straight and talk to me like an adult, even when I was small they'd never sugar coat things and I like that about them. They love all their family and I want my kids to know them. I pray they find out what's wrong with my grandfather. He's staying overnight and already got one CAT scan.

I'm at home now, after eating some soup and my meds while watching Repo. I think I'm finally getting tired or maybe my head hurting wants me to sleep. My nose and my throat hate me right now. I'm supposed to go to Monrovia Canyons tomorrow so I hope I sleep. I'm going to see if my corset and/or gun that my friend Robert modded for me is in! I hope I feel better tomorrow. I'm going to try to sleep. Any prayers or good vibes for my grandfather would be appreciated.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

sleep, child, sleep

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!