“Latest “Past “Contact “Diaryland” “My DISCLAIMER “The “Rants “Surveys “Long PhotoBucket Link “Definitions” “Merci's LIVEJOURNAL

2005-07-24 - 5:27 p.m.

Yeah, so Vidal called me yesterday and he was drunk. I got upset, then he all of a sudden stopped talking and I couldn't hear him breathe. I got freaked out so I went to his house and he was passed out on his bed and the phone was off the hook. I tried to shake him awake, but he wouldn't budge, so I slapped him and he came to. I was glad he was still breathing, but angry that he was drunk, so I yelled at him a while to the point where I was in tears and then hung out a while to calm down cuz I had to drive back home. He didn't care.
This morning he called me, he didn't remember a thing, and he didn't believe that I was at his house. But I took two stuffed animals from him room as proof that I was there. :) Plus he still felt his face stinging when I slapped him. (Oops!) I told him I've given up on him and his drinking and if that's what he wants to do with his life, go for it. He's upset about this, but not upset enough to quit.
I hate alcohol because it altered my friend Adrian's life forever. He's still here, thank God. I also hate it because my mom was in a really bad car accident where she got hit by a car so fast and so hard that her car tumbled a couple of times. She got out of it, but not without scars and bruises. The driver was drunk.
Also, I've seen what it does to people, how some people use it as a crutch to explain away their faults and as an excuse to do damaging behaivour. (example: "I didn't know what I was doing, I was drunk!" or "I only kissed her because I was drunk!" That sort of thing) I'm not opposed to people having the occasional drink or anything, it's when it becomes habitual and depressing is when it's not OK for me. I've known some great people ravaged by alcohol and some horrific things that happened because people where drunk or drinking.
I havn't had any alcohol since last year, and even when I would have some, it would be only once in a great while. I don't get fucked up and then try to do things on purpose because supposedly my inhibitions are low. I know exactly what I'm doing, and so do most of the people that are "drunk". Partying and acting a fool in front of other people may be some people's idea of a good time, but not mine. At least when I used to drink, I was by myself and didn't take it out on anyone. (I know it's worse to drink alone, but I've stopped that)
*sigh* I'm just all over the place with this subject. I just wish that people would say what they mean, even if it's something I don't want to hear. Don't tell me that you're going to quit and change if you really don't have any intention to. And if you relapse, don't try to talk your way out of it. Admit it, try for a new goal, and move on.
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
A wise man learns from his mistakes
A wiser man learns from other's mistakes

past rants - future ramblings

Who am I?! kill time-read these diaries! spread the word! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!